And this is my life: South Africa

“Its the oldest story in the world. One day you’re seventeen and planning for someday, and then quietly, without you ever really noticing, someday is today, and that someday is yesterday and this is your life.” -Nathan Scott

It’s still very hard to believe that every morning for the past three weeks now, I’ve been waking up in Africa. But what’s even more surreal is that these three weeks will continue on for five months. After years of dreaming of this experience, my time has finally come. I am here. I am in Africa. This is my life. 

To catch you all up to speed on my activities, my mom and I had an amazing last week together exploring Victoria Falls and the beautiful city of Cape Town. While in Zambia we stayed in a very charming place called the Munga Eco Lodge. There we went on micro-lite flights, sunset cruises, and got absolutely drenched by the “mist that thunders” at Victoria Falls. Once we finally arrived in Cape Town, my mom and I both had our first realization that although this was our final destination, this would be the point where we would be parting ways for a while. So we really took advantage of few days we had left together. We explored Cape Town by car the first day and driving on the left side of the road proved to be an adventure in itself. We went to see the stunning landscape of theCape of Good Hope and Cape Point and all the cities we passed along the way (Noordhoek, Camps Bay, Clifton, etc). We stayed in a marvelous boutique hotel called Rouge on Rose, located in the BoKaap area. There we were able to walk along Long Street, Kloof, & Adderly, explore the V & A Waterfront, take a ferry out to Robben Island, enjoy delicious meals, drink one glass too many on Wine Wednesday, and make precious memories together that I will cherish for the rest of my life. This was by far the most amazing trip I have ever been on and I wouldn’t have wanted anyone else by my side. Love you infinitely mom! And thank you for enriching my life in immeasurable ways. 

But just as one adventure ended, a new one began! And although I had to say a tearful goodbye to mom, I gained a new family here in Cape Town; my roommates at Roxburgh and Bolihope. In one short week we’ve explored the peninsula together, discovered the ridiculous affordability of alcohol, and created friendships that feel like family. 

2 thoughts on “And this is my life: South Africa

  1. I’m so touched by your words–not just about our travels, our relationship but how you are experiencing life and growing. I’m so proud of you. I admire you & I’m so excited to watch and share (with your blogs,texts, phone,….) your journey. love you to death!!!!

  2. Susan Stenman says:

    So happy for you Mia ! God Bless you and keep you safe and happy.

Leave a Reply

