Bringing in the New Year with positivity and determination

Every New Year’s since I was little my mother encouraged me to write down my New Year’s Resolutions. Now as I’ve gotten older, I’ve not only written them down, but kept them close to me and visible so throughout the year I can see the progress I’ve made and the goals I have yet to achieve or work on.

For me, 2015 is a big year. Its the year I finish my college education, possibly schooling forever, and move on to a big kid job. And as excited as I am to enter the “real world” with an undergraduate degree in Environmental Science and Policy, I can’t help but feel this aversion to following this predictable path that has been mapped out for my generation. When I graduate, I’m expected to know what I want to do, but truthfully I don’t. Well I don’t know the answer society wants to hear anyways.

If you really want to know what i want to do when I graduate its this: I want to travel the world. I want to meet people of all ages, ethnicities, cultures, sexualities, and different stories. I want to have the pleasure of getting to know the backroads and explore the landscapes of untamed horizons. I want to drink nice bottles of wine in foreign places with people that make my heart sing. I want to play in the waves of different oceans, shower in thundering waterfalls, and jump off bridges and out of planes.  I want to bask in the beauties and riches of this world– both nature and humans alike. But aside from the dream world I envision as my young adult future, I also understand that traveling comes at a cost.

So for this year my motto is as follows:

“Always remember to fall asleep with a dream and wake up with a purpose.”

As long as we are able to acknowledge our dreams we can begin to do the things necessary to achieve them. For me, this means finishing school and doing it well while maintaining jobs and internships on the side. This way, I’m bettering my future, appeasing societies markers of success, and saving money for a lifetime of adventures! But aside from my wish and deep craving for travel, there are things I can do everyday that will help me find a deeper level of happiness, authenticity within myself, and overall peace with myself and the world.

So here are my goals for the 2015:

1. Accept that change is inevitable and embrace it. 

“We cannot become what we want to be by remaining what we are.” -Max Depree

2. Positivity enhances everything we do and shines through us. Embody it.

“Positive minds. Positive vibes. Positive life.”

3. Fear is truly the only thing that has the capacity to hinder our lives if we allow it. Acknowledge your fears and then push fear out.

“If we would only see that all limitations are self-imposed and chosen out of fear, we would leap at once.”

4. Practice gratitude daily, multiple times a day. It will bring happiness to you and those around you.

“The more I understand the mind and the human experience, the more I begin to suspect there is no such thing as unhappiness; there is only ungratefulness.”

Dr. Steve Maraboli

5. Don’t settle for the ordinary and don’t limit your life by living within the norms.

“What is the point of being alive if you don’t at least try to do something remarkable?”

6. Learn to let go of things that weigh down your spirit.

“Dear Self, you can only lose what you cling to.” -Buddha’

7. Spend time truly connecting with others and with nature.

“Connection is a result of authenticity.”

8. Do everything with a searing passion. 

“I began to realize how important it was to be an enthusiast in life…if you are interested in something, no matter what it is, go at it at full speed ahead. Embrace it with both arms, hug it, love it and above all become passionate about it. Lukewarm is no good. Hot is no good either. White hot and passionate is the only thing to be.” – Roald Dahl

Please share with me in the comments section some of your resolutions this year! Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

